A study recently conducted in Washington state concluded that drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) should have ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles to prevent a second incident from occurring, even if the DUI conviction was the driver’s first brush with the law, according to an article from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).
Currently, New Hampshire ignition interlock devices aren’t required for persons receiving their first DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was under 0.15 percent at the time of their arrest, as is the case in many other states. Drivers receiving a second or later DUI conviction, or motorists with a high BAC, may be required to have the device installed in their vehicles, however.
The researchers in Washington, however, found that when first-time DUI receivers had ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles, the chances that they would be arrested for a second DUI were cut in half. Based on this data, some officials are recommending ignition interlock devices be required for anyone who has been convicted of drunk driving. If this recommendation becomes law, it will create an additional burden on those already facing stiff consequences for a DUI conviction.
If you’re facing an NH DWI charge, you need a knowledgeable New Hampshire DUI defense attorney on your side to protect your rights and fight for the best possible outcome in your case. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our attorneys are dedicated to building an aggressive defense for each client we represent. To learn more, call us today at (603) 624-0390 for a free and confidential telephone consultation.
Many people who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in New Hampshire are required to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles in order to receive their licenses back and to drive. The person required to have the ignition interlock device installed is also required to pay for it out of pocket – one of the many heavy costs of a DUI conviction. How much can you expect an ignition interlock device to cost?
NH ignition interlock device costs for having the device installed, operating it, and having the results downloaded varies according to who does the installation. However, the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) estimates that installation generally costs between $100 and $250.
In addition, the vehicle’s owner will be responsible in New Hampshire for the daily operating costs of the device. These generally cost between $65 and $90 per month, or about $2 to $3 per day, according to the AAMVA. The operating costs may include the cost of having the data downloaded periodically from the device, or there may be a separate fee for this requirement, depending on who installs and maintains the device. Having the device removed and the vehicle restored to its original condition is also likely to create additional costs.
If you’re facing an NH DWI charge, don’t wait. Call the knowledgeable Manchester drunk driving defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. Your initial telephone consultation is free, and we always keep your information confidential. Our number is (603) 624-3700 – call us today.
The New Hampshire Senate is currently considering a bill that would expand the administrative powers of the Division of Motor Vehicles when it comes to drivers who have been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Hampshire.
The bill, known as Senate Bill 282, would allow the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles to request a hearing whenever a person’s license is suspended or revoked after a DUI arrest. The hearing would determine whether installing an ignition interlock device on the driver’s vehicle would improve safety.
If the hearing officer decides the answer is yes, the driver will have to have the device installed – at his or her own cost – before getting permission to drive again. The ignition interlock device could be required even if the driver is never actually convicted of DUI/DWI, or is convicted of only a first offense, which currently does not require an ignition interlock device in most cases. While supporters say the bill will improve safety and reduce possible drunk driving incidents, according to the Union-Leader, opponents say that an ignition interlock device should only be required if a driver is actually convicted of an alcohol-related offense – and they point out that an arrest alone never proves guilt.
At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., a practiced New Hampshire DUI defense attorney has years of experience fighting on behalf of those charged with drunk driving in our state. We will stand with you, building a strong defense that fights for the best possible result in your case and vigorously defends your legal rights. Call us today at (603) 624-3700 for a free, confidential telephone consultation.
New Hampshire law requires some people who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles. The device requires the driver to give a breath sample before starting the car and at random intervals while driving. If the sample tests positive for alcohol, the car will not start or will not keep running. But how reliable are these devices at measuring whether a driver has been drinking?
According to the U.S. National highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), ignition interlock devices should accurately detect a driver’s blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, 90 percent of the time. This means that under ideal conditions, your ignition interlock device will accurately measure and record your BAC – or lack thereof – every 9 out of 10 times you blow into it.
Several different conditions can cause the device to get its measurements wrong, however. If your breath sample is too small, for instance, the machine may not be able to get an accurate reading. Likewise, if you have used mouthwash or medication containing alcohol, the machine might detect this on your breath and refuse to start. Waiting 15 to 20 minutes after using these products before starting your car will allow any alcohol in your mouth to dissipate, increasing the chances of an accurate reading.
Being required to use an ignition interlock device is just one of the possible penalties that follow a DUI conviction. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our experienced New Hampshire drunk driving defense attorneys have the legal resources and courtroom experience to build an aggressive defense that fights for the best possible outcome in your case. For a free and confidential consultation by telephone, call us today at (603) 624-3700.
New Hampshire law requires some people convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles. The device tests the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and prevents the car from starting if the driver has been drinking. Many other U.S. states have ignition interlock laws as well; here’s a look at how New Hampshire ignition interlock laws compare to those across the nation.
Thirteen U.S. states, including New York, require an ignition interlock device for all drivers convicted of a DUI, even for a first conviction, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Ten states, including New Hampshire, require ignition interlock devices for both drivers convicted of having a BAC above 1.17 percent and drivers convicted of two or more DUIs in five years. Eight states require ignition interlock devices for either high-BAC convictions or multiple convictions, but not both, and nineteen states have no ignition interlock requirements at all.
New Hampshire’s ignition interlock laws are relatively tough compared to the laws in the U.S. as a whole. Some New Hampshire drivers will not be required to place an ignition interlock device on their cars even if they are given a DUI conviction. However, the penalties for any DUI conviction in New Hampshire are harsh.
At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our experienced New Hampshire DUI defense attorneys focus on providing an aggressive defense that fights to protect our clients’ rights while seeking the best possible outcome in each case. To learn more about how we can help you face a drunk driving charge in New Hampshire, call us today at (603) 624-3700 for a free and confidential telephone consultation.
Most people who face charges of driving under the influence (DUI) can predict a few of the possible costs that come with being convicted, including fines and court costs. A Colorado Springs DUI conviction, however, comes with other, hidden costs as well. One possible hidden cost of a DUI conviction is the price to have an ignition interlock device installed on the driver’s vehicle.
An ignition interlock device works by testing a driver’s breath sample for alcohol. If the sample tests positive, the device prevents the car from starting. Drivers may also have to give samples at random times while driving, known as “rolling tests.” When a court requires a driver convicted of DUI to have an ignition interlock device installed on his or her vehicle, the driver is responsible for paying the costs of the installation. The installation fee can range from $50 to $200 or more, depending on the driver’s location and how difficult it is to install the device on the driver’s specific vehicle. The driver may also have to pay a rental fee of approximately $50 to $100 per month.
Drivers are also responsible for the costs of maintaining the device and downloading data from it. The installer can provide specific information about these tasks, but in general, an ignition interlock device must be calibrated at least once every 60 days to ensure it is working correctly.
The costs of an ignition interlock device can add up fast. Unfortunately, even drivers who try to avoid these costs by not driving may face other expenses, like the costs of taking buses or taxis. An aggressive defense from an experienced DUI attorney can help drivers charged with DUI avoid these costs by seeking the best possible outcome in each driver’s case.
This blog appears courtesy of The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., a Colorado based law firm that handles Colorado Springs DUI cases.
Ignition interlock devices are one penalty New Hampshire courts impose on drivers who have been convicted of one or more instances of driving under the influence (DUI). Although they allow a person who has received a DUI conviction to drive, they restrict the driver’s ability to operate the vehicle if he or she has imbibed any alcohol prior to driving.
An ignition interlock device is, basically, a breath testing machine hooked to a car’s ignition system. The device will not allow the car to start until a breath sample has been provided. The device tests the breath sample, and if it detects alcohol, it will not let the car start. If there is no alcohol in the sample, the car will start. The driver may also be required to give breath samples at certain intervals while driving the car, as well as each time he or she tries to start the car after making any stop.
The ignition interlock device is often installed inside the glove compartment of a car, so that a casual observer would not realize it exists. It is hard-wired to the ignition system. Most devices have a small onboard computer that records the date, time, and results of each sample. It may also record each attempt to start the car and whether it has been tampered with in certain ways. The driver is usually responsible for paying for the installation and for the removal when the restricted driving period ends.
Ignition interlock devices add another obligation to the already stiff penalties imposed on those convicted of DUI in New Hampshire. If you’re facing a DUI charge, please don’t hesitate to contact the experienced New Hampshire DUI defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. Call us today for a free and confidential telephone consultation at 1-603-624-0390 or on our Free Helpline at 1-888-511-1010.
If you’re convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Hampshire, the court can require you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car or truck. Courts typically require ignition interlock devices for drivers who have already been convicted of DWI at least once. First-time DWI convictions rarely require an ignition interlock device, unless the driver had a particularly high blood alcohol content, or BAC, when he or she was arrested.
A New Hampshire ignition interlock device consists of a breath analyzer attached to your car’s ignition. You must provide a breath sample each time you want to start the car. If the analyzer detects a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher, it will “lock down” the ignition, preventing you from starting the car.
In addition to controlling when you can start the car, an ignition interlock device also keeps track of information. For instance, the device will make a record any time you try to start the car, what your BAC was when you tried, and whenever you provide another breath sample for testing while driving. Although the device can record for up to 90 days, you will usually be expected to report to have the information downloaded at least once a month.
At best, an ignition interlock device is a significant hassle for drivers convicted of DWI. While the devices are intended to make the roads safer by preventing people who have been drinking from driving their cars, they are also a significant cost and a burden if you are required to use one. Hiring an experienced New Hampshire DWI lawyer can help you avoid the hassle of an ignition interlock device and other penalties. The skilled attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have years of experience handling DWI cases. We will fight to ensure that your rights are protected and garner the best possible outcome in your case. Call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. at 1-888-511-1010 today for a free consultation.